Hey there ! I remember when I started knitting… At first I was so enthusiastic. Few weeks later… I was totally depressed ! Basically, I could only knit (very basic) scarfs. Once I found a nice pattern on the web but I didn’t have the right needles. Once I didn’t have the right yarn. Very often I just felt stupid because there was a tutorial giving a basic directive and I was just like : “OK, but HOW the hell am I supposed to do this ??”. That’s why I decided to share few tips with fellow knitting beginners. For real beginners, who don’t own a knitting store at home (yet !). So today, here’s a first tutorial : how to knit a wool round when you only own regular needles.

Level : beginner

You need :
  • yarn
  • some regular knitting needles
  • a sewing needle

Here we go !

1 – Cast on 10 stitches :

Wool Round - Knitting for beginners 1

2 – Knit a first row

3- Then knit 8 stitches :

Wool Round - Knitting for beginners

4 – Switch to knit these 8 stitches back on the other needle.

5 – Here is it : your 10 stitches back together.

Wool Round - Knitting for beginners

6 – Now knit 6 stitches :

Wool Round - Knitting for beginners

7 – Switch and knit these 6 stitches to have your 10 stitches back together again

8 – This time, knit 4 stitches :

Wool Round - Knitting for beginners

9 – … and yes : knit these 4 stitches back with their friends !

10 – Now, let’s go for 2 stitches :

Wool Round - Knitting for beginners

11 – …and back :

Wool Round - Knitting for beginners

 

It’s like a (very) thin cake part, isn’t it ? So now…

Start again :

  1. 10 stitches & back
  2. 8 stitches & back
  3. 6 stitches & back
  4. 4 stitches & back
  5. 2 stitches & back…

…and here we go again !

One more cake part…

Wool Round - Knitting for beginners

One more cake part…

Wool Round - Knitting for beginners

Step by step, you’re going to knit a whole cake :

Cast off and keep the yarn (keep about 20 cm).

Let’s sew !

After sewing, time to close the center : run the yarn through the needles of the center. Tighten & tie.

 

Done !

WARNING ! As I don’t have a good camera, I made this wool round with 5 mm needles, hoping you’ll see better. For a better result, knit with 3.5/4 needles !

I hope you coud understand this tutorial despite my terrible english. See U !

 

